CHORDS_2018_ESIP_Winter_Poster_FINAL.pdf (17.84 MB)

Recent Impacts and Discoveries Arising from the use of Cloud-Hosted Real-time Data Services for the Geosciences (CHORDS)

Download (17.84 MB)
poster
posted on 12.01.2018 by Michael D. Daniels, daniels@ucar.edu, http://orcid.org/0000-0003-1889-4084, D. Sarah Stamps, dstamps@vt.edu, https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3531-1752, Paul Kucera, pkucera@ucar.edu, Branko Kerkez, bkerkez@umich.edu, https://orcid.org/0000-0002-8041-5366, V. Chandrasekar, chandra@colostate.edu, https://orcid.org/0000-0003-1569-698X, Sara Graves, sgraves@uah.edu, Mike Dye, mdye@ucar.edu, Charles Martin, martinc@ucar.edu, Ken Keiser, keiserk@uah.edu, Joshua Jones, joshj55@vt.edu, S. Ryan Gooch, s.ryan.gooch@gmail.com, Matthew Bartos, mdbartos@umich.edu

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; text-align: justify; font: 11.0px 'Trebuchet MS'}

CHORDS, an EarthCube Building Block, addresses the growing importance of real-time scientific data, particularly in mission critical scenarios where informed decisions must be made rapidly. Many of the phenomenon occurring with the geosciences, ranging from hurricanes and severe weather, to earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanoes and floods, can benefit from continuous sampling of real-time data so that transient signals may be detected. In many regions of the world, valuable real-time measurements are sparse or non-existent. We highlight new science and societal impacts enabled by CHORDS, particularly in the African continent.

Funding

CHORDS is funded by the US National Science Foundation EarthCube program, grants #1639750, 1639720, 1639640, 1639570 and 1639554.

History

Licence

Exports